(This is the second in a series of articles on the 2019 Canadian Country Music Awards)

Looking at this year’s nominees for Male Artist, all but Tim Hicks have won before, even though three of the five finalists weren’t nominated last year (Paul Brandt, Dean Brody and Tim Hicks). Dallas Smith, the reigning Male Artist, won his first award in this category last year. Nominee Paul Brandt holds the record for most consecutive wins with four (1997-2000) and is one win away from tying the late Terry Carisse for the most wins. Terry’s record stands at six wins with Paul the only artist to have a total of five wins.

In the Female Artist category, Guylaine Tanguay is the only first-time nominee. Tenille Townes had been nominated in 2011, back when she was using just her first name professionally. Lindsay Ell, Jess Moskaluke and Meghan Patrick are the only returning nominees from last year, Meghan winning the last two years in-a-row. The record for most consecutive wins is four, held by two artists: Carroll Baker (1975-1978) and Michelle Wright (1990-1993). Carroll also holds the record for most wins in this category with eight.

This year’s Group or Duo category is a re-run of last year. All five nominees this year were finalists last year. Washboard Union, last year’s winners, and High Valley are the only nominees this year to have won previously. The Family Brown holds the record for the most wins with 13 and the most consecutive wins with nine. Duo of the Year was a separate award from 1983 until it was combined with Group of the Year in 1992. Related acts have won a total of 24 times while non-related acts won 18 times. Since the awards were merged in 1992, only three duos have won: The Stellas in 2013, Small Town Pistols in 2014 and High Valley in 2015 and 2016.

The Canadian Country Music awards will be presented in Calgary in September.

For more on the Canadian Country Music Association and the awards, go to their website, www.ccma.org